Where are you God?-Hope

doveWhere are you God?- Hope when you feel hopeless

Sitting there in my friend Amy’s office crying. “I just don’t know what I will do” I said. You just have to trust and believe in God. He is working it out, Carolyn” Amy said. This has been one of many discussions of this type that Amy and I have had over the years. Believe God. Yeah, that’s been pretty hard for me to do.  I resort back to the times in my life I did just that only not to have things work out. I wanted my marriage to be healed. Didn’t happen. I wanted my Mom to live, didn’t happen. I wanted my love life to work the way I wanted it to. Didn’t happen. Sometimes believing in God is hard. We get an idea of how things should go. Then when they do not go that way, we feel like God failed us.

I always wonder if the saints in the old testament felt that way. I think of Abraham. I wonder if he thought God was failing him as he was walking up that hill with Isaiah. He knew that God wanted him to sacrifice one of his most prized possessions. I wonder if Joseph thought he was ever going to get out of that hole his brothers put him in. Did either of them felt a twinge of despair? We know that David felt despair when he was in hiding.

He says in Psalms 42:5 “Why am I discouraged, why is my heart so sad.”

In 42:9,10 he continues “Oh God my rock, I cry. Why have you forgotten me? Why must I wonder around in grief, oppressed by my enemies?” Their taunts break my bones; they scoff “Where is this God of yours?”

When we are in the deepest battle of our life, sometimes we wonder if God even hears us cry out. True, God didn’t save my marriage but I now realize He was saving me. Because of that battle, I came through victorious and more aware of God’s presence and glory in my life.

If you are going through something and you are wondering where God is, if you wonder is He hearing your cry, trust me He is. He loves you. He knows how you are suffering. Know that God’s ways are not our ways. He is perfect in every way. He is molding you into something great. Put your hope in Him.

Romans 5:2-7   

through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God.  Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.  And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.  You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.  Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die.”

 

Leave a Reply

