Caught with Salt in Our Mouths

salt

Caught with Salt in Our Mouths

 “ With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. 10 Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. 11 Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? 12 My brothers and sisters, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.” James 3:9-12

 

I remember when I was little my Mom would say something nice about me then turn around and in the same breath criticize me. I didn’t understand how I could be a good girl but have all these bad traits. For me it was either black or white there was no gray area. Either I was a good person or a bad person. I still think that I am like that to this day, and thus, have a hard time when people try to give me positive criticism. I must admit though there has been times that I was caught with salt in my mouth. I am guilty!!

God is like that in the same way. He is black and white God. Either what comes from us is positivity or it is negativity. We can spring forth fresh water living water that encourages our brothers and sisters in Christ or nasty sea water that’s bitter and leaves a bad taste in their mouths. What about those that don’t know Christ? Does what we say (especially statements on social media) bring forth that fresh water that reflects the living water of Jesus Christ? Do we claim to have fresh living water in us, but spit out nasty salt water as many times as we do the other? We must always remember that our words are weapons, they can hurt, they can encourage, and they are the very essence of what we are thinking.

Lord I want my words to be fresh; I want them to reflect you, the God who has the endless stream of fresh
living water.

Leave a Reply

