God’s Garden

This weekend I so wanted to work in my flower beds, but it was impossible. The rain has made my garden nothing but mud and mush. Every time I took a step, I sank farther and father in the mud.  I asked God “God why all the rain? Can’t you see that my flowers are drowning? Too much water and the flowers will die.

Sometimes in our lives trouble just rains on us. Stress and worry pours on our hearts like the rain showers we have had this year so far. Like those poor flowers, sometimes we feel like we are sinking in the mud. We feel that all that is left of our life is just mushy wet dirt. I have been to the bottom of the dirt, and during that time I cried out to God, “God, why are you doing this to me? Why are you making me go through all these things? Where are you? Can’t you see I am drowning? Do you even care”?

Hey I don’t think I am the only Christian that has felt that way. I am sure David felt that way when he was in hiding from the King Saul, and I am sure Joseph felt that way when he was sold to slavery by his own brothers. You see, we all have times in our walk where God has us planted deeply in the dirt. So deep we think we might drown and die.  He knows our future.  The seeds that were drowning in April showers are the same wonderful blooms that appear in May’s flowerbeds.  God works that way with us. He lets us sit in the dirt, soaking up the mush and the muck. He lets us get to the point where we think we are for sure going to die and then He works His magic. He takes a withered up person, one that needs to rely on Him to grow, and turns us into beautiful blossoms and all this is so He can be glorified.

So, my friends, if you are in a place where you feel like you are drowning, dig down deep and get into the root of your Heavenly Gardner. He has the ultimate fertilization. He can take a wilted rose and make it a prize beauty. He won’t let you down; He is just preparing you for something beautiful!

 

“ For as the soil makes the sprout come up and a garden causes seeds to grow, so the Sovereign Lord will make righteousness and praise spring up before all nations.” Isaiah 61:11 (NIV)

 

Leave a Reply

