Speak Life

10488390_821617874517919_3570164375481026678_n

It has been a long time since I blogged. I guess I have just been really lazy. But lately God has put these two words into my spirit. SPEAK LIFE!! 

We wouldn’t think that a few little words could impact a person in a tremendous way. When my daughter Kimberley was younger, she wanted to take ballet. I told her she didn’t have the body to be a ballerina. Little did I know how that would affect her self-image for years to come. I never meant that there was something wrong with her, I just didn’t want her to get hurt, because truthfully, how many little girls become ballerinas? I was trying to protect her from pain but in truth I caused her pain.

As Christians sometimes the things we say to others, even when we say them with a loving heart, can scar them emotionally. Proverbs 18:20-21 in The Message says Words satisfy the mind as much as fruit does the stomach, good talk is as gratifying as a good harvest. Words kill, words give life; they’re either poison or fruit—you choose.”

We need to be careful of what and how we say things. We as Christians need to be edifying others up and not tearing each other apart. Speak life into your brothers and sisters in Christ. Speak life into those that don’t know the love of the savior. Speak life into our children for they are our future.  For as it says in Psalm 19:14 “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O  lord, my rock and my redeemer.

Leave a Reply

