Which Road Do We Choose?

277817751_cbe4dfafa4

I love Roberts Frost poem “The Road Not Taken”. It is about a guy that comes to two roads and has to decide which road to t\take. Most of us have had roads that we can’t decide to take, paths that tempt us from what God truly wants for us in our life. Basically the decision is eventually ours.  I am sure if you know me, you have heard my testimony. I tell it to everyone. I am not proud of it but I know that God has made my story into something that will give Him glory.

Many years ago I took the wrong path. I was so low in self esteem, self absorption that I decided to just go live the wild life. I became involved in an alternative sexual lifestyle. Basically I was very easy-going when it came to men.  It seemed fun, it seemed daring. I would drink a lot, go to bars and pick up strange men. It was a challenge as to who I could take home that night. I also got online to find men. It was easy they were everywhere. Most the time I didn’t know what was their name. Didn’t really care either,  I just wanted the sex.  Well that is what I told myself anyway. I got into some heavy areas that make the books 50 shades of Gray look like a love story. After several years of this life I felt used, broken, unworthy. I wanted a man to control my life. See I was hurt by my husband. He cheated on me with a woman I thought was my best friend. I was hurt by God because He knew that I couldn’t be in that relationship anymore and instead of saving my husband or changing my husband, he took my husband out of the picture. I yelled to God “That wasn’t what I wanted!!! How dare you!!” So I took the wrong road and let men even further use and abuse me. I thought that if the men desired me, then I was worth something. I was pretty. I was trying to justify what I did wrong that made my husband leave me. But see it wasn’t me. I wasn’t blameless in my marriage breaking up at all but him cheating, that was on him, not me. It was his issue. After I decided to leave the fast lifestyle God began to work in me. I kept hearing His calling. The depth of the well I was in was overwhelming. It led to depression, hopelessness and homelessness. I even considered suicide. But one day I answered God’s call. Instantly God changed my heart. Am I perfect by all means, no,  I still have issues I struggle with but I know that I am finally on the right path. I am on God’s road.

If you are struggling at which road you should take think of this.. Am I doing something that God would approve of? Will this decision affect just me or others? Am I letting God control this or am I letting another person control me? Make the right decision. The road that is off the beaten path may look more adventurous and exciting but may lead to things that you wished you never found. It is never too late to let God choose your path. He will never leave you or forsake  you. He love you.

 Deuteronomy 31:8  It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

Proverbs 3-6 Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

One thought on “Which Road Do We Choose?

  1. Denise Hisey says:

    Making the choice at the fork in the road isn’t always easy. Thankfully, God is there for us no matter which way we go.

Leave a Reply

