Revenge not Taken

Image

Psalms 64

1Hear me, my God, as I voice my complaint;

protect my life from the threat of the enemy.
2Hide me from the conspiracy of the wicked,
from the plots of evildoers.
3They sharpen their tongues like swords
and aim cruel words like deadly arrows.
4They shoot from ambush at the innocent;
they shoot suddenly, without fear.
5They encourage each other in evil plans,
they talk about hiding their snares;
they say, “Who will see it?”
6They plot injustice and say,
“We have devised a perfect plan!”
Surely the human mind and heart are cunning.
7But God will shoot them with his arrows;
they will suddenly be struck down.
8He will turn their own tongues against them
and bring them to ruin;
all who see them will shake their heads in scorn.
9All people will fear;
they will proclaim the works of God
and ponder what he has done.
10The righteous will rejoice in the Lord
and take refuge in him;
all the upright in heart will glory in him!
In this Chapter of Psalms, we see David crying out to God. Saul was after him and he was hiding in the desert. If don’t know the story, The Israelites decided that they no longer needed a prophet but a King to rule over them. Samuel prayed for God to show him who should be the new King. Samuel anointed Saul as King of Israel. But as with most kings, Saul let all that power go to his head. Saul had the idea that David was after his crown so he went after David. David fled to the wilderness to escape Saul.
David could of fought Saul and killed him, but he knew that Saul was God’s appointed one. David was so close to Saul at one time, that he cut a piece of his robe off.
Ok so back to my point. How many times in our life do we feel like the enemy is attacking us. Recently I have been having an issue at work with some co-workers. They have it out for me. I have no clue why. The first thin that comes to my mind is how can I get them back. That nasty R word pops into my head. Revenge is such and evil thing. In the end everyone gets hurt. The more I simmered on the issue, the more God talked to my spirit. God led me to this chapter. David, as I said, could of killed Saul very easy. But, he decided to lay it in God’s hands. God spoke to my spirit and told me that He is the God of justice and He will protect His people.
I am not saying that will be easy to do. I want to go and tell my supervisor that these girls are not being nice to me. If I do that am I trusting God’s promise? I am a child of the Most High. What daddy will let injustice come to their child?
Prayer: Lord I can’t defend myself alone. I lay this situation and these people in your hands. i have the promise that You will defend me and protect me. I praise you my God. In Jesus name Amen.
Leave a Reply

