All You Need is Love

Love%201%20Corinthians%2013%2013Yesterday I went to the funeral of my friend’s 19 year old brother. He was a god Godly man, he was doing the right things in his life and for no apparent reason he was gunned down and killed. As I sat there listening to the eulogy, and all the nice things everyone said about him, I can’t help think, what is this world coming too. There is so much hate.

1 Corinthians 13:1-3 gives us all an example of what God expects of us. Especially of Christians  “If I speak in tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love I am only a resounding gong or a clanging symbol. If I have gift or prophecy and can fathom all mysteries, and all knowledge, and I have faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I can boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

Wow, God tells us that we can be the best that we can be, we can help the poor, sing the most beautiful song, work in the church fervently in every ministry(I know you servants are out there cause I am one), and it all be for nothing if deep down you don’t have love in your heart.

So reading these words I ponder these thoughts:

Did the person who shot this young man, or the person who shot those kids in CT. ever see love in his life? The person at work that you can’t stand to be around, that has caused you so much strife, do you love them? Do you show them kindness and pray for them? That ex husband/wife that just won’t let it go, that causes you heartache all over again. Do you pray for them? I know these things seem impossible. You can easily love someone that you don’t know or someone that hasn’t affected your life. I understand how hard it is. It took me eight years to stop hating my ex husband. I now love him but love him in a Godly way. I pray for him and want God to bless him.

It wasn’t easy for me. It is hard to get to the point where we can love our enemies. Remember though, we can’t do it. We can only let God change us enough and allow Him to do it for us. So, the first step we can take to change the world is ours.

I challenge you to go up to someone that you don’t like and say to them ” I know we have had issues but I want you to know God loves you and so do I and I will be praying for you. See how they react, see how their face changes. Notice the difference it will make. Let your life be a proof for His love.

4 thoughts on “All You Need is Love

  1. CJ – While I’ve made progress, I have not come close to where you are in your faith today. I still struggle with forgiveness on many fronts, including forgiving myself. I reread your posts and they bring home to me those elements of a godly life I recognize I must experience before I can possibly move into a true relationship with my father in heaven. Thank you for providing these thought-provoking posts. They provide a great devotional experience.

    • cjknotts says:

      Sheri God has brought me from living in my car to where I am today.. Faith is what I lived on for a long time. We are to trust in His promises because he will not forsake us or leave us.

  2. Denise Hisey says:

    Hi CJ -I found you through Sheri’s site. (she’s awesome!)
    This post is so timely for me… Last summer my mother and I had an amazing reconcilliation after a 12 year estrangement. God brought us both through the journey of forgiveness and redemption. Love is an action, and He continues to show me how to live it out loud. Mom and I are working out the kinks in our new relationship and it remains challenging. Your post applies in so many ways to our situation. Thank you.

    • cjknotts says:

      that is so awesome Denise. My Mom and I worked everything out to right before she died. And I was there holding her hand when she went into Jesus arms. It was the saddest day in my life but the most precious also.

Leave a Reply

