GRANDMA’S BOY

When my daughters were younger I never went too extravagant for their birthdays. I would get a cake, some ice cream, grab a few random children from our block (thank God we didn’t have Amber alerts back then or I’d be in jail writing this) and sing Happy Birthday. Today things are different.  Today I am a GRANDMA or grammie as I am called. So when he came time for Hunter’s first party we are going to have to do this thing up well. No Dollar Tree supplies for him, no sireee. We are doing it up right.

So I call my daughter and we spend an hour on the phone discussing what the theme should be. Yes a theme!  Every one year old needs a themed party that he will never remember right?

We threw around idea, a circus theme, maybe planes, trains and automobiles, sports,  mickey mouse or a jungle theme?  Nope none of them were good enough for my little man. I mean after all he is special, he is grammie’s boy. By this time I can hear my daughter on the phone feeling pretty frustrated with me and she says “Mom he is just one, he doesn’t care. As long as he can shove the cake in his mouth, he will be happy.”  Just for the record I thought the trains, planes and automobile theme was great and this would be the cake if I had gotten my way

Airplane_birthday_cake1

But as you can guess, I didn’t get my way. So my wonderful, awesome, clever daughter decides to get on Party City’s website and look things up. When she tells me this, I also go there. And there it was like a light bulb in my head

u17462617

The most unique theme that we could ever get.

rebel

I could see the vision in my head. The cake could be black with little motorcycles all over it. I could find him and Harley Leather Jacket. We could put grease in his hair his blonde curls are slicked back. I can see him as a rebel I mean he does have his Grammie’s blood in him.I excitedly called my daughter knowing she will love this idea and  when she answers her words are; “Are you serious Mother (she calls me that only when I am getting on her nerves)?, My son isn’t going like some hoodlum for his birthday party”  I could hear her roll her eyes at me like I was some mad woman. It was then that I realized that my child, my baby daughter, my babygirl, my last born, has grown up and I have digressed

We finally settled (ok I just really got overruled) and we decided on a more simple primary color theme.  BORINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!! So I go to Party City and fork out the $50 to make my grandbaby happy… Afterall he is Grammies boy…

305028F_full

Still think he would of looked cool in a leather jacket. Pictures will come later.

P.S. By the way I always returned the children from the block fed, happy and full of sugar 🙂 no harm done

7 thoughts on “GRANDMA’S BOY

  1. Maybe you can spoil him with a mini-Harley on his 2nd birthday. 🙂

  2. Its a special and important thing to be a grand parent, spoiling the the grand kids. Its added years to my parents life.

  3. I haven’t been getting any notifications of your new posts, even though I followed your blog over a week ago – because WP messed up and glitched out by putting your blog in a status for me to NEVER get notifications of your posts via e-mail. But I just found and corrected that problem, and I’m very glad I that I did! Enjoyed reading this post too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

